Family Drama and why I don’t need it

Published January 29, 2013 by crayolasandcombatboots

This may be considered a rant but whatever, this is MY blog so I can say what I want on here.

So this is what happened…….
Yesterday my Aunt calls my Hubby to take her to do her once a month big errands which she does almost every month. She gets in the car and then says, “so I hear that your drinking” He’s been sober and clean for 14.5 years so this is a total shock to him! He’s like “Where did you hear that?”
She says” From J(I’m not gonna put the name here because I don’t want her to get offended or anything)”

Mind you J hasn’t talked to us or seen us in over a year so how the hell would she know anything. J is my other Aunt from my Mom’s side of the family and she lives 4 blocks away from us, doesn’t call, come over or anything. Miraculously she just KNOWS that my hubby has been drinking. This is ridiculous considering that she drinks, smokes herself. Also, I feel that this shows a total lack of respect for me, her niece, to be spreading lies about my husband. She never once called me or stopped by to see if it was true she just assumed wand started spreading vicious lies.

My family wonders why I don’t take my kids around them or come and visit by myself. This is why. My husband and I don’t fit in because we don’t drink, smoke or talk crap all day. We also don’t allow our kids to visit because of the negative influence. I know blood is blood but when you didn’t know that blood until you were 19 years old, with your own morals and values already instilled in you it is hard to change.

I don’t need the drama. I have enough drama with my 3 kids. Other people’s drama has no place in my life. I was told that you can’t choose family however I can choose because when I was little and being put up for adoption my biological family chose NOT to fight for me.

How many other people out there feel the same about their families?
I have a feeling I’m not the only one.

 

Leave a Reply

